Isabel's Story

 
 
Book 1: The Promise
The Promise 300 dpi.jpg

1944 The Isle of Wight - Sixteen-year-old Constance’s life on the island is sheltered until the death of her brother, brings the reality of war crashing down around her. He leaves behind his pregnant widow, Ginny. When Constance meets a handsome Canadian airforce man, she’s eager to escape her grief and be swept up by first love. It’s a love which has ramifications she could never envisage.

Present Day - When young British backpacker, Isabel Stark happens across a car accident on a lonely stretch of road in the South Island of New Zealand her life changes forever. The sole passenger, Ginny Havelock asks her to make a promise before she passes away - to find Constance and to say she’s sorry.

Isabel, a lost soul, is haunted by her promise on her return to the United Kingdom and the only clue as to finding Constance lies within a conversation held at Ginny’s funeral. It leads her to Isle of Wight.

When Isabel and Constance’s paths finally cross will Ginny’s last words be enough for Constance to make peace with her past? And in fulfilling her promise will Isabel find a place to call home?

From award winning author, Michelle Vernal comes an utterly heartbreaking, historical novel inspired by her birth family's connection with the Isle of Wight - Fans of Susan Sallis, Ella Carey and Fiona Valpy will absolutely love this captivating, unique story. 

Book 2: The Letter
THE LETTER 300 dpi.jpg

'Michelle has a lovely style, engaging, individual characters with great voices who are comic and charming (reminds me of Marian Keyes). I loved this book.' Helen Falconer, Author. (This book was previously titled The Dancer)

Veronica and Gabe met when they were children at a ballet class and by the time they’d reached their teens they knew they’d be dancing together forever. Only Gabe’s mother had other ideas…

Twenty something years later Veronica no longer dances and life hasn't turned out how she thought it would. She’s a divorced woman in her forties. She’s got a needy ex-husband, teenage sons, a sister who fancies herself as a long in the tooth ‘it girl’ and a mother who’s recently moved into a care home. She’s tying herself in knots trying to be everything to everyone.

Veronica also has a secret.

Isabel was a lost soul until she moved to the Isle of Wight and found a place to call home, but there's still a part of her that's missing. She knows she must reach out and find the missing piece if she's to feel whole.

When Veronica receives a letter she never thought she'd get her past collides with her present. The time's come to share her secret with her family, but she's not the only one who's been keeping a secret...

A Reader’s Favorite, Gold Medal award winning novel.